Top Java Certifications to Look Out For in 2020

Top Java Certifications to Look Out For in 2020

Java is a widely used language for software development. It is a favorite of organizations and every single Java programmer in the IT sector. Oracle consistently provides the premium certificates to those individuals who are looking to develop competence as an Oracle certified Java programmer. Each of the certifications is designed to validate a specific level of expertise in the Java platform and domains. This post covers the top Java certificates that have remained popular in 2020 and are expected to remain very relevant in the coming years. Let’s take a look at these certifications to help you improve your Java knowledge.

  • Oracle Certified Associate Java Programmer (OCAJP)

This is an associate-level certification offered by Oracle. The certificate covers the basic concepts of Java programming and is designed to help the students build the required foundational knowledge of Java and general programming. To obtain this Java programming certification, the candidates must take the Java SE 8 training course to develop practical knowledge and expertise in Java SE. Additionally, they have to pass the Java SE 8 Programmer I exam, which is also known as 1Z0‑808. This test covers a range of topics, which include creating and utilizing arrays, handling exceptions, as well as using loop constructs, operators, and decision constructs. You should also understand the basics of Java and be able to work with inheritance, Java data types, methods, encapsulation, and selected classes from Java API. The exam is 150 minutes long and consists of 70 multiple-choice questions. You need to score 65% to get the certificate.

  • Oracle Certified Professional Java Programmer (OCPJP)

This is a professional-level certificate that validates one’s knowledge and skills in the development of Java code in Java SE 8. The candidates for the OCPJP certification should be able to demonstrate the skills required to become an experienced Java developer. To earn this certificate, they must complete the advanced Java SE 8 training, earn the associate-level certification, and pass the qualifying exam. The code of the test is 1Z0-809, and this is a 150-minute exam with 85 questions. The passing score is 65%. If you want to become an Oracle certified professional, you should consider this certificate.

  • Oracle Certified Professional Java Application Developer (OCPJAD)

This certification validates your skills in developing and deploying applications with Java Enterprise Edition 7. This certificate is the right choice for the Java front‑end and back‑end application developers, software engineers, and architects with intermediate- to advanced-level experience in the use of Java EE 7. To get the certification, the applicants need to complete the Java EE 7 training and be the holders of the OCA certificate. And of course, they must pass the Java EE 7 Application Developer exam, also known as 1Z0-900. This test is made up of 70 questions and the learners will have a total of 110 minutes to answer all of them. To pass this Java certification exam, they should achieve the passing score of 66%.

  • Oracle Certified Master Java Enterprise Architect (OCMJEA)

Different organizations require the seasoned professionals to take care of their vital applications and systems. Therefore, these specialists should have the skills and experience to define requirements, architect systems, and supervise implementations. OCMJEA is the most prestigious and respected certification path for the Java developers. It demonstrates that they have the verifiable Java expertise and knowledge required to implement the application development process at the enterprise levels. A potential candidate for this option must complete the Java certification course and pass the associated exam, which is 1Z0-807. This is a 150-minute test with the passing score of 71%. It covers a range of topics, including the following:

  • Application Design Principles and Concepts;
  • Design Patterns;
  • Business Tier Technologies;
  • Integration and Messaging;
  • Common Architecture;
  • Web Tier Technologies;
  • Security.

If you pass this exam, you will be able to upgrade to the Java Oracle Certified Master path. Therefore, you need to master all the required skills and get the needed knowledge.

Final Thoughts

This is not a complete list of the Java certifications available to the IT specialists. However, these are some of the top certificates that can improve your career potential in the industry. There is also the Java 11 certification, which is another great choice for the programmers. While there is some debate about the difficulty of learning Java, the truth is that you can get your certificate with the best study resources. You can find a variety of online training courses that you can explore to develop the required competence for your test.

Java is a class-based, general-purpose, high-level, multi-paradigm programming language that is used by the organizations across the world. It is utilized to develop different applications, from server-side to stand-alone mobile ones. So, if you want to become an in-demand professional with the Java skills of high quality, explore one of the above-mentioned certifications.